Overblog Follow this blog
Edit post Administration Create my blog
November 27 2010 7 27 /11 /November /2010 11:10

Gemstones are composed of various rocks and elements. Unprocessed stones are polished, cut, and faceted and then they are given the name of gemstones. Gemstones can be classified in various ways as follows-

• On the basis of the constituent element. E.g. rubies are composed of aluminum and diamonds are composed of carbon. 

• On the basis of shapes of stones. E.g. cubic, trigonal, monoclinic etc 

• On the basis of mineral species. E.g. beryl mineral species includes such gemstones as emerald, aquamarine, bixbite, heliodor, and moeganite.

A variety of gemstones are available in the market. Gemstones are available not only in the three primary colors of green, blue and red but also in various other hues.


Purchasing gemstones can be quite a harrowing task. If you are not mindful and cannot tell the difference from one gemstone to the next then the chances of your being duped is very high. There is no dearth of unscrupulous dealers who can resort to fraudulent practices and give you inferior quality gems at the price of the original one. Thus it is very important that you buy gemstones only from a authorized or certified dealers.

Share this post

Repost 0
Published by Telno Walker - in Jewelry Buying Guide
write a comment